H O P S C O T C H

prev | next

2006-04-30

I have been working full-time and going to school part-time (usually 3 courses) for over a year. Making it my business and hobby to comb through text books, write analyses and programs outside of the 8 to 5 and on the weekends.

It seems I've reached the ceiling where I've been working. I'm not sure if there's anything else I can learn in my current position and there's no way within my department to be promoted to other duties. I should probably talk to my boss about it except I see how she can nurse grudges. It may be time for me to leave.

I really like my grad program at Kent. I never knew that teachers could actually care about how and what you were learning; and even about you as a person. This never really happened during my undergrad experience but I never knew it could have been any different. I was starting to think after my early twenties, "This is how adult life is." It's lonelier. You don't reach out because reaching out sometimes implies this vulnerability the both parties don't want to acknowledge.

I'm glad this isn't the case, always. I'm ready to launch into my studies full-time without being linked to Athens anymore. There is no reckoning with it. I'll probably hang in there for a year. There's the house and job and benefits. And my husband has the same links with OU too. (OU is where I work.) I'm not sure how it all happened. I don't want any part of my resentment of this town to be intertwined with my feelings Rue.

I just find myself waiting this out. Screaming on the inside until I figure something out; or time runs out...or maybe even luck.

I'll let you know how it turns out.

PS. Being out west was like a dream. I can't get the desert out of my bones.



archive | diaryland