H O P S C O T C H

prev | next

2006-03-04

My life is very task-oriented, everything lined up in queue ready for input and then output, not much time for theories that seemed to drift me through the weeks while I was a shiftless undergrad. I miss it sometimes.

I do have some theories. Like how it seems that people who come to my service counter seem to like to treat me like a search engine. How much? How long? What file size? Compatibility? In rapid fire succession while I scramble to remember every statistical counterpoint. Every complete sentence I try to get out sometimes get scowled at by the time a get to the period. It is not the exact, precise thing they are looking for. They interrupt. Back Arrow. Revise the search.
"Please make it shorter, more bulleted, more exact."

"Please leave out the colloquialisms it is obvious I'm trying to filter, please."

Was I like this at 18? I can't remember quite.

It seems like casual social encounters are more rushed as of late. But today taking the morning off before programming and then paper writing. Trying to convince R. to consider going to grad school full-time instead of working and doing school part-time. I could use a little simplification myself.

The library is constantly reorganizing, master and strategic planning, working on its vision. Playing shell games with department folks. Spin and spin and nobody knows.

...but in the meantime I like these cool, sunny March days in Ohio spent with sloppy pony tails and glasses that should be straightened. And thinking about the vacation we are taking to California on spring break. And being still.



archive | diaryland