H O P S C O T C H

prev | next

2007-06-30


I looked over older entries and saw that I've been obsessing over this job in Cleveland. I have to stop. Especially if I don't get it. It will hurt my heart so hard if I keep building it up.

But in the meantime I'm writing up answers to mock interview questions.

"Tell us about a time you tried something and you failed."

Or the most loaded for me is "Tell us about yourself."

I think the key is always related the question to the position at hand. Keeping it relevant. And knowing when to stop talking.

Interviews are never a very natural process once you start interviewing for jobs in the government and educational sectors. You sit in a circle with six other people and they take turns asking you questions. You reply to the person but make sure to look at the other five people, answering the question the best you know how. And they just write. There's no conversation, just questions and writing.

And it goes on for a whole hour like this while you try to keep your nervousness at bay.

Next Friday morning, it will be completely over and I'll be floating down the Ohio River on a kayak trying to forget all awkward moments from before.

I read somewhere that interviewers forget 85% of what happens during the interview. Hopefully they choose to forget the parts that benefit me.

Oh well, wish me luck.



archive | diaryland