H O P S C O T C H

prev | next

2007-03-09


Someone who picked up a DVD I made for them as part of my work came back later in the day. Usually, this means they have a complaint or something else they would like me to do.

He introduced himself and I to him. He was a second year doctoral student in Journalism. He came back with a small piece of notebook paper in his hand and cut to the chase, "I think you're gorgeous, I know you probably have a boyfriend or fiance..."

"Husband."

"Take it as a compliment, forget this ever happened. I'm so sorry." And with that this man disappeared so quickly down the hall. What courage. I admired him and pitied him at the same moment.

But then, even if I was a single woman, I don't know how I'd handle such a strong introduction. These first words forming the basis of a relationship, how would it work? How would you start a friendship? I wonder if he'll keep his distance from my workplace until faces are forgotten just enough to get by.



archive | diaryland