H O P S C O T C H

prev | next

2007-02-25


I'm not as confident about my interview in Wyoming as I was just after it. I would be the youngest librarian on staff if hired and I would definitely have some battles to fight when forging ahead with a digital repository.

After immersing myself in readings about the nature of the institutional repository, I'm more excited about the position than I was when I visited. I think it just sets me up for disappointment more than anything. Government documents have more in common with archives than I initially realized. I feel like a dope.

I was in the high plains of Wyoming with a good view of the mountains to the west. Lots of cowboy references. More sun out there. I don't think I'm as focused on living in the 'perfect place' as I am on finding fulfilling work with good co-workers. I could imagine myself relaxing in the open prairie, lawn chair pointed towards the rolling, grassy hills, trying not to have a thought in my head.



archive | diaryland