H O P S C O T C H

prev | next

2004-05-21

In a day, I will be face to face with the Atlantic ocean again. We can fly my dove kite in Mystic, CT. A diversion, a front.

I'm so apprehensive of this move. Sometimes, I think I could just live in poor white Ashtabula, Ohio and suffer along week through working week like the rest before me.

Maybe it's just me, it is probably me, but the dissonance that resounds in me. I always attribute it to class differences. So many times in especially Vermont and academia.

This is hard to write.

Jesse Jackson came through Appalachian Ohio this week making comparisons between blacks and poor whites in rural America. And this has always made so much sense to me.

Everytime I go back home I see more kids in this almost 100% white region of Ohio dressed in the gangsta gear.

I think I know the struggle more personally each time I live somewhere else.

A small essay is overdue. I don't make sense. Connecticut only for the weekend.



archive | diaryland