H O P S C O T C H

prev | next

2004-05-12

I am practicing talking with strangers. A strangely familar person tending to her dying daffodils by rubber banding them to separate them from the summer flowers. I realize later she's the lady who fills my birth control.

A boy with a little league t-shirt that said "Jesus 3" on the back told us he was watching birds with his telescope. I told him to watch out for Venus.

But still i lack courage. The emaciated girl i always see glued to the treadmill was jogging down greek street in a baggy sport bra and shorts. All these shouts came from a fraternity like,

"Don't forget to eat something."
"Man, that's disgusting."
"She's like one of those Ethiopians."

And a few ubiquitious "Wooo-hooos". I still lack the courage to defend those who can't defend themselves. I see this fragile girl always running but can't stop her or them.

If she wanted to, I would walk with her.



archive | diaryland