H O P S C O T C H

prev | next

2004-04-27

My grandparents have parted ways. Living apart in hospitals that stand next to each other.

Everyone sorting things out at the old farm. Adding a curtain in a room that didn't used to have a bed. Going through stacks of mail. Pushing rusted freezers out of the barn. A museum of bicycles hung upside down, rusted to their hooks. Broken depression plates from afternoon movies. They salvage old percolators, silver spoons. My dad hands me a "Miss Kiwanis" banner.

Rue wants to buy the farm. For projects and long walks over the hillside. 80 acres for things like bee-keeping and a warehouse. He imagines a field of solar panels. Maybe windmills.

I think of breeding labrador pups. Of growing sunflower mazes every summer. A large garden. My own workshop.

We wonder sometimes what all this education is for.



archive | diaryland