H O P S C O T C H

prev | next

2004-03-15


Shuffling around pieces of paper of an application mixed in with his for the peace corps. Essay questions where i hope not to be too shallow. Somehow, Ecuador in conversation gave me the nudge on the shoulder how we haven't but have always went to the informational meetings and toted around the applications but haven't.

Something makes me want to struggle to communicate. Something more elemental with dusty tiles and tin roofs. And days that move slower just because things take longer. To motion wildly with my hands and red face what the algebra on the board is doing. Meenin' miss. I feel moved to teach if I could while scientist helps set of laboratories with his easy limbs and smile that children climb like trees.

I remember the small Vietnamese girls touching their tiny noises and pointing at his very English looking nose. Laughing under their hands until one of the Mustafas says "You got a big nose." The Bosnian kids spoke boldly and ran quickly.

I see our nerves being teased sometimes. It would be nice to trade in this set of worries for another set.



archive | diaryland