H O P S C O T C H

prev | next

2004-02-11

Reading Twyla Tharp's new book has reinforced the notion that in my work, i really haven't the notion of a spine when i procede.

Just the simple story in process, maybe an underlying frame that holds it to its rail. That's the spine. What the person or personified thing sets out to do and how and if that gets accomplished.

That is the hardest part. Somewhere I read stories are either Juliet and Romeo or David and Goliath. And then there's Joseph Campbell who thought that writers need to have a grasp of mythology, perhaps to help strengthen the spine.

My sticky poetic paper mache paste needs some sort of wire or balloon to hold on to.

If you want, leave a sentence-length story in my book. Mine are so holed up in who i am.

Perhaps I should write about a man with a spine which floats in pieces of vertebrae around his arms and legs who falls in love but needs to fight...

i don't know:)



archive | diaryland