H O P S C O T C H

prev | next

2003-12-26

It has just really set in. All these streets and store corners and raising and falling hills are stagnant in memory. The snowy footprints filled in by now. The automatic triggers of need sending me back to the same neighborhood in Vermont.

We drive around here. My dad gives me a tour of route 20 trying to show me around for a second time. Look over here and over there. Though I've never said anything bad about this place really, he's felt a little hurt by my move. The places always in competition.

I really feel 'homeless' right now. It's really a different feel to the landscape, but time enough and apartment enough will help.

We still have a few more Christmas stops before we get to our final destinations.

My grandpa is doing better. I thought he was going to die while we were still packing up the truck and making our way west. But he is off the respirator. I really do love him so very much--in the way that he is a kind and gentle man always afraid to disturb the cart of apples.

It pained me to see him struggle to speak words against his usually quite nature. Struggling against the tube in his throat.



archive | diaryland