H O P S C O T C H

prev | next

2003-04-25

Cat Power came and went. I was ashamed for them as the bar noise behind us started to drown out her and the piano. It started out peak-a-boo with too large sun glasses and a hair tossling contest with the violinist and smoking long cigarettes. Something rattled in the piano and the microphone not rounding the sound enough and I was wondering if she just wasn't going to leave but waited for the band to join in again.

Well, I don't blame you.

I played soccer with a great dane and trampled around the statehouse. And later a woman with still more life sitting in her house crying if she were dead. And me with a schedule that I just ignored as it crept into my ear. I see her Monday. This weekend I'm volunteering at the Special Olympics. It just happened in a way, all this community service.

Where'er the wind blows, I goes.

So that's the line I give to the 'what next' question. They are all lines anyway, mostly. Something in me is alright with the superficial in the right spaces. In the right spaces it holds up light enough weight for fleeting comfort between strangers.

It doesn't end.



archive | diaryland