H O P S C O T C H

prev | next

2002-03-20

Spring break. Spring breaking. Lots of bad white boy bands playing on oldies radio, not a lot of stations in range here, though more from my usual post in Appalachia. And then Wilson Pickett mixed in here and there with his groaning "oh yeahs". And then back to the parades of Eddies, Frankies, and Lous and the 'ettes'. Why can't Detroit be a little closer in order to bounce the waves successfully across the lake to where I am. Really intrigued with the use of the minor key and diminished 7th in a lot of these out-of-date pop songs. Happy and dreary at the same time, some are outright stalker creepy 'let me molest you' music. Like Del Shannon's Runaway or the Marvelette's Danger, Heartbreak Ahead or Dusty Springfield's Spooky or strangely enough Gloria Jones did the original version of Tainted Love in the 60s...that Soft Cell made famous in the 80s. Time to get a record player soon, to search out old 45s that haven't made it to the remastering stage.

Hopefully I won't set out to destroy something as beautiful as 60s soul with terminology and postmodern theories. Though the urge...

And the biggest undeniable crush on a younger Smokey Robinson, though I'll let Stevie Wonder genius brain baby take me at any age.

Things are slower here, older here. Restful. As restful as staying with your family can be. Catching up with cable (check, caught up). And trying to shake the chronic bronchitis while reading Science and Health by Mary Baker Eddy. Pleasure reading for my inner Christian Scientist since I'm losing touch with my inner Teamster that I adore.



archive | diaryland