H O P S C O T C H

prev | next

2002-02-14

Trying to acquire, though slowly, a taste for tea. Lent in full swing and I'm dairy free. No more instant hot chocolate packs for me. It's an accomplishment everytime I empty one full cup.

Getting harder for me to switch back-and-forth between my telegraphic free-writes in journal form and expository magazine-like writing. A paper returned in English 460 (Form & Theory) and it had a fragment in it. Probably the first time in college that I'd left a verb completely out of my sentence. It's going to take the year extra of Linguistics to iron out my slack jaw word plop. I hate prescriptive grammar when my point gets across clearly, as it did in this paper.

I should probably practice writing for real but don't won't to obliterate my voice and rhythm. Stop. Dangling modifier? Direct Object? Which or that? Tense fluctuation? Have the Ohio symptom of wanting to end my questions with a prepositional phrase too. "Where's he going to?" "Where are you at?" I wish grammar was innate, recognized by my ear, but anymore only tonal hooks truly stick and stresses too. Have to dissect into little sentence trees...which I like (secretly). Sorry so nothing.

Tomorrow a paper due.
One more class.
Sleep, sweet,
sleep.



archive | diaryland